WP 2

Conceptual and geomechanical models

WP 2 Lead: IFPEN

Antoine Soulat
antoine.soulat@ifpen.fr

The objective of this work package is to develop conceptual/theoretical models based on the newly acquired and available (e.g. Troll Field) data in the project and to carry out advanced coupled flow-geomechanics simulations of the candidate sites in order to finally study the geomechanical behavior of these sites in response to pressure changes in the reservoir. This WP focuses on the interpretation of observed data and coupling the observations to mechanical behavior of geological formations using procedures and concepts that have already been developed in Deflandre et al. (2011), Liu et al (2017), Bohloli et al. (2017 & 2018) and Boni et al. (2018) to ground-truth sites.

Numerical simulation with focus on surface displacement will be carried out for several synthetic scenarios, with the goal of identifying whether certain deformation mechanisms are likely to be visible and typical monitoring resolution and deployment requirements. Next, geomechanical simulation of candidate sites will be carried out.

Click on the image to view a larger version.

Participating persons:
Tore Ingvald Bjørnarå: Tore.Ingvald.Bjornara@ngi.no
Ola Eiken: oeiken@quadgeo.com
Audrey Estublier: audrey.estublier@ifpen.fr
Jérémy Frey: jeremy.frey@ifpen.fr
Iryna Malinouskaya: Iryna.malinouskaya@ifpen.fr
Sarah Bouquet: Sarah.bouquet@ifpen.fr
MD Nazmul Haque Mondol: nazmul.haque@geo.uio.no
Yann LE GALLO: yann.legallo@geostock.fr
Bahman Bohloli: bahman.bohloli@ngi.no
Ziqiu Xue: xue@rite.or.jp
Iñaki Alvarez: i.alvarez@ciuden.es
Juan Andrés Marín Vidal: ja.marin@ciuden.es
Roberto Martínez Orio: ro.martinez@igme.es